2014 History Awards Banquet

The EIU History Department and the Epsilon Mu Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta held its annual awards banquet on May 2, 2014. Please join us in congratulating all of our award recipients!

PAT 2014 - DSC_0004

PAT 2014 - DSC_0010PAT 2014 - DSC_0015


Breeahnah Babers, John Bays, Michael Bradley, Rebecca Braundmeier, Brendon Charles, Taylor Coffman, Andrew Daily, Bethany Haywood, Megan Kessler, Kody Kidwell, Jay Ryan Lawler, Jr., Cate LiaBraaten, Emily McInerney, Jacob Meyerhoff, Joseph Mickelson, Ryan Repking, Michael Rosenbaum, Rachael Sapp, Jessica Schluter, Ethan Shimer, Quentin Spannagel, James Willaert


The Errett and Mazie Warner History Award
For an outstanding junior or senior history major
Jennifer Seiler
Michael Bradley
Taylor Yangas

The Rex Syndergaard Scholarship
For an outstanding undergraduate or graduate student with an interest in teaching
Breeahnah Babers
Jessica Nunez

The Stephen M. Horak Award
For an outstanding senior history major with a concentration in European history and at least one course in Russia or Eastern European history
John Bays

The Robert and Julie Sterling History Education in Social Science Scholarship
For a junior or senior history major with teacher certification
Megan Kessler

The William B. Reid, Jr. History Education Scholarship
For a junior or senior history major with teacher certification
Jessica Schluter

The Wolfgang and Barbara Schlauch European History Scholarship
For an undergraduate or graduate history major with an outstanding academic record and a concentration in modern European history
James Bishop


The Lavern M. Hamand Graduate Writing Award
For the best paper by a graduate student in the Department of History
Aaron Psujek (Fall)
Cate LiaBraaten (Spring)

The Alexander Hamilton Paper Award in American History
For the best undergraduate paper on American history written for a course taught in EIU’s History Department
Michael Bradley

History Faculty Writing Award in World History
For the best paper in world history (excluding Europe and the United States) written by an undergraduate for a course taught by a member of EIU’s History Department
Jennifer Seiler

The Herbert and Jane Lasky Anne Frank Award
For the best undergraduate paper on the Holocaust written for a course taught by EIU History Department faculty
Matthew Cain


The Robert Hennings HA Internship Scholarship
Cate LiaBraaten

The Duane Elbert Internship Scholarship
Caitlin Smith


Livingston C. Lord Scholarship
Jessica Nunez

King-Mertz Distinguished Research/Creative Activity Award
Nichole Garbrough

Distinguished Graduate Student Award
History: Aaron Psujek
Historical Administration: Desiree Ramirez

Williams Travel Awards
Aaron Psujek
Danielle DiGiacomo
Logan Bruce

Social Science Writing Awards
Michael Bradley
Michael Olson

Women’s Studies Woman of Artistic Vision Award
Emily Scarbourgh

Women’s Studies Essay Contest, Graduate Category
Emily Scarbrough

Graham R. Lewis Memorial Poetry Award, Second Place
Emily Scarbrough

Study Abroad Student of the Year
Mattie Korneta

Distinguished Senior Award, Alumni Services
Zachary Samples

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s