New Historical Administration Students Go On Fall Study Trip

The new Historical Administration students spent two days in Indiana on their recent Fall Study Trip. Among other highlights of the trip, they met with Rebecca Vaughn (HA 2010), collections manager at the Monroe County History Center in Bloomington, and with Amanda Bryden (HA 2014), Indiana State Historic Sites Collection Manager, in New Harmony. Generous hosts at those sites and at the Ruth Lilly Auxiliary Library Facility, the Mathers Museum of World Cultures, and the Working Men’s Institute gave behind-the-scenes tours of collections storage and preservation, and offered insight into administering this wide array of cultural institutions.

HA F14 NH group3

HA Graduate Students Awarded EGS Scholarships

Laura Russman and Brian Failing, graduate students in the Historical Administration Program, have each been awarded a Chester A. Bowser Scholarship from the Elgin Genealogical Society (EGS). EGS provides scholarship funds to deserving graduate students in studies related to genealogy and grants to local organizations for projects to benefit the genealogical community. Scholarships are awarded in honor of the Society’s late member and benefactor, Chester A. Bowser.

Faculty Monograph Honored as a Kansas Notable Book

Dr. Bonnie Laughlin-Schultz’s recent book, The Tie That Bound Us: The Women of John Brown’s Family and the Legacy of Radical Abolitionism, has been selected for inclusion on the 2014 Kansas Notable Books List. The Kansas Notable Book List recognizes the literary richness of Kansas and is a project of the Kansas Center for the Book (KCFB) at the State Library of Kansas. The annual selection of 15 books reflecting the rich cultural heritage of Kansas features titles that are either written by Kansans or features a Kansas-related topic. A committee of KCFB Affiliates, Fellows, and authors of previous Notable Books identifies these titles from among those published the previous year, and the State Librarian makes the selection for the final list. Each year a reception and medal awards ceremony honor the books and their authors and illustrators.