Departmental Scholarships & Awards Winners Announced

The History Department is proud to announce the winners of this year’s departmental scholarships and awards. The students will be recognized at the department’s annual awards banquet, which will take place on Saturday, May 2. Congratulations to the following students!

———Departmental Scholarships & Awards———

Errett and Mazie Warner Award
– Scott Harrell
– Megan Kessler

– Jessica Nunez

Rex Syndergaard Scholarship
– Jay Lawler
– Jessica Schluter

Robert and Julie Sterling History Education in Social Science Scholarship
– Jacob Meyeroff
– Joseph Nichols

William B. Reid History Education Scholarship
– Selma Smajlovic

Wolfgang and Barbara Schlauch European History Scholarship
– John Bays

Lawrence and Emily Nichols Memorial Scholarship
– Richard Borzi

Elisha and Estella Ziegler Baumgartner Scholarship
– Michael Spencer

Ardath Fogelsanger Scholarship
– Emily McInerney

Jeanne and Donald Tingley Memorial Scholarship
– Monica Burney

Leften Stavrianos World History Award
– John Sarvela (undergraduate)
– Kim Jones (graduate)

History Study Abroad Scholarship
– Monica Burney
– Kevin Lux
– Katie St. John
– Hunter Worthey

———Departmental Writing Awards———

The Lavern M. Hamand Graduate Writing Award
– Kara Batts Hoke, “’Along All Lines of Human Progress’: The International Council of Women and the 1893 Chicago World’s Columbian Exposition” (Fall)
– Laura Russman, “The Proof is in the Teapot: Evoking the Colonial” (Spring)

History Faculty Writing Award in World History
– Taylor Yangas, “The Trojan War in Greek Art”

The Anne Frank Award
– Mary Larson, “The Unheard Members of the Bielski Otriad”